(NVQ) National Vocational Qualification 2019-11-22T09:15:07+00:00

(NVQ) National Vocational Qualifications: Red to Blue CPCS Cards

Red to Blue CPCS Cards

When you complete a CPCS course, you are issued with a Red Trained Operative card which is valid for 2 years. To upgrade from a Red card to a Blue CPCS card, you will need to have achieved the relevant CITB health, safety and environment test within the last two years and complete a relevant NVQ qualification.  You will have 2 years from when you are issued a Red card to enrol onto an NVQ course. You may then apply for a Red card 12 month extension to complete the course if required.

NVQ’s are portfolio based qualifications which require you to demonstrate your theoretical and practical knowledge and understanding through written examples, observations, witness testimonies and questioning. During your induction your assessor will explain what information is required to complete your portfolio and it is your responsibility to collect the evidence required, complete the written documentation and book in your site observations.

Once your portfolio is completed you can then apply for your Blue Competent Operator card through CITB

NVQ programmes available:

Level 2

  • Slinger Signaller
  • Mobile Crane Operator
  • Compact Crane Operator
  • Forward Tipping Dumper
  • Telescopic Handler
  • Lorry Loader
  • Excavator

Level 4

  • Crane Supervision

Level 5

  • Appointed Person

Course Details & Booking


Level  2 – £750 + VAT
Level 4 – £880 + VAT
Level 5 – £1250 + VAT